composting my Guerrilla Garden

grabbing some free compost!

Last weekend I was able to tend to my soon-to-be Guerrilla Garden @ San Pedro & Boyd. See my last blog post about this project (http://bit.ly/ne0CpN). With the site all cleared from debris and weeds, I composted the dirt to soften it up a bit. Scott, from  SoCal Guerrilla Gardening who I have been communicating with electronically, suggested composting my soil after I explained to him it was hard and compact. I found this information on the website, www.earth911.com  about the benefits of using compost:

Benefits of Using Compost

  • Improves the soil structure, porosity, and density, thus creating a better plant root environment.
  • Increases moisture infiltration and permeability of heavy soils, thus reducing erosion and runoff.
  • Improves water-holding capacity, thus reducing water loss and leaching in sandy soils.
  • Supplies a variety of macro and micronutrients.
  • May control or suppress certain soil-borne plant pathogens.
  • Supplies significant quantities of organic matter.
  • Improves cation exchange capacity (CEC) of soils and growing media, thus improving their ability to hold nutrients for plant use.
  • Supplies beneficial micro-organisms to soils and growing media.
  • Improves and stabilizes soil pH.
  • Can bind and degrade specific pollutants.

DLANC member Jayne (http://bit.ly/nhExVV )  told me  about a program  from the LA Bureau of Sanitation (www.lacitysan.org) that has free composting give-aways to the public. I found a site close to DT open on Saturday, next to the LA River @ Washington under a bridge. I loaded up on the stuff- it’s free! Yipee!

compost site under the a brige @ the LA River & Washington

ready to mix in the compost

all spread out and blended in to my soil-nice and chunky!

I’m thinking some colorful bougainvillea for up against the fencing, and some succulents for the center of my patch.

this is my idea for the space...

This entry was posted in news and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to composting my Guerrilla Garden

  1. Pingback: planting my 1st Guerrilla Garden @ San Pedro & Boyd | Trees on San Pedro Street Project

Leave a Reply

