I need to start a Nonprofit organization…

nobody seems to care about these baby trees on Alameda Street

There were 31 Podocarpus macropyllus (Shrubby Yew Pine) trees planted along the Alameda Corridor in October 2009. No entity, public or private, is currently the responsible party to take care of these saplings. Trees need 5 years to establish themselves so that their roots reach far enough into the ground to get water on their own. I have learned that they have not been watered for about 6 months. So, I watered them myself. The owner of Bull’s Truck Wash, Mr. Del Toro, kindly let me use his water source. Here is what I did today…

I bought a cute little wheelbarrow @ Home Depot which I wheeled over to the truck wash

I filled up some buckets with water

 
 

then I wheeled up and down Alameda street

 
 

the trees were thirsty

It is becoming crystal clear to me that tree care and maintenance, and at the core, love, needs to come from someone who lives within the community. This would be me. I think the only way I am going to be able to effect change and plant more trees in Skid Row and ensure for their healthy existence, is to set up a Nonprofit of my own, then get started writing grants. I have no idea how to go about doing this, but I know this is the path I must take.
This entry was posted in news and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I need to start a Nonprofit organization…

  1. N. Carrieri says:

    That’s awesome!

  2. Pingback: the LACC and DLANC save the Alameda trees! | Trees on San Pedro Street Project

Leave a Reply

