Meet Brian, Horticulturist & new Skid Row resident

Brian...this guy knows plants!

So, as luck would have it- I got an email from someone who wants to help with my tree planting project who also recently moved into the Skid Row neighborhood. His name is Brian, and he has a degree in Environmental Science/Horticulture. Brian has a background working with both the City of Los Angeles and area NGOs on community restoration projects. He asked me if I had a Master Tree Plan for Skid Row and what types of trees I was planning on planting.

I told him that no, I don’t currently have a Master Tree Plan for Skid Row-and that I was starting off small, with just 7 trees- but that I have a pretty good idea of what kinds of trees I want to plant.  After meeting and discussing my project, he asked if he could help me by putting together a Master Tree Plan for the entire area—and pushed me to start to think BIGGER.

Here is how Brian explained to me the creation of a Master Tree Plan for Skid Row:

 “The plan will utilize principles of sustainability from funding to cost/benefit to specie selection.  Additionally, the plan will be designed to integrate with the existing vegetation in our community and surrounding neighborhoods. Through this type of approach we should be able to address the concerns of Skid Row business owners, the City of LA’s Forestry and Environmental Departments, other community groups who have worked so hard to get this process going and of course the residents of Skid Row.”

Welcome to the neighborhood, Brian!

This entry was posted in news, trees, Urban forestry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet Brian, Horticulturist & new Skid Row resident

  1. It’s nice to see in a big city like LA, people still have a sense of community.

  2. Iris says:

    It’s great you found Brian!

Leave a Reply

