the “What I See Can Be Me” mural @ 5th & Crocker

A lot of local folks have their eyes on this mural called the What I See Can Be Me mural on the Nickel in Skid Row. We, as a community, are looking into ways to revitalize this mural and the surrounding area in the coming years. These videos by Michael Blaze of the Skid Row Photography Club give a poignant insight into the history that surrounds this wall.

So far, we have reached out to SPARC numerous times to work on restoration, which is what they do- this is their mural. We are waiting for them to come to the table and help get this piece restored and refreshed. There is still a fear about Skid Row, there is still a stigma about doing anything here in our precious public space. They have said so much to me about getting involved here. I have faith this will change soon.

"I had just finished filming Crushow Herring at the wall when they came up to do their shoot."  by Michael Blaze

“I had just finished filming Crushow Herring at the wall when they came up to do their shoot.” by Michael Blaze of Skid Row Films

This entry was posted in news and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the “What I See Can Be Me” mural @ 5th & Crocker

  1. Wow, these are awesome videos! Thanks for sharing them.

    I wanted to also let you know that I am doing another iteration of the Community Scavenger Hunt tomorrow around 3pm at 4th and Los Angeles. I’ll probably transition to Main Street around 4pm. Feel free to swing by! Participants will mark Scavenger Hunt destinations using bright orange balloons on a 48″ x 60″ map of Downtown LA. The visual outcome should be interesting!

    I hope you are having a good week!

Leave a Reply

