what about more murals?

new mural on Washington & Landmark in Culver City

Murals in Skid Row. How can we get some? If I was to walk just a few blocks east over into the Art’s District, I’m quite sure that I wouldn’t be able to throw a rock without hitting an artist. There are several murals and wheat paste posters on the buildings over there. Over at the MOCA, just a few blocks north there is even an exhibition going on now called Art in the Streets (http://www.moca.org/audio/blog/?p=1522). So…how can we get some of that action over HERE?

At this point, I don’t know, but I am trying to find out. Street art and murals on private buildings is subjective I realize-this is not everyone’s cup of tea. My angle is that I like them and that there should be more of this in Skid Row—all opposed are welcome to comment here though.

As much as I personally like to bend the rules, I do not like to break them. Law enforcement and maybe even the CCEA would definitely have to be on board with this concept considering their dedication in the areas of safety and cleanliness for Skid Row. I wouldn’t want to interfere with any of that. Would a committee need to be formed? I have questions. Any landowners in Skid Row up for a mural? What about a building for sale? Holla back at me—please? I’ll make it happen.

I walked up on this scene yesterday in Culver City…

mural in-the-works @ Washington & Landmark in Culver City

I asked this artist, named Andrew, how this all works—painting on a private building. Much like planting trees on public sidewalks, the permission of the landowner is needed. He told me that he was working with a gallery who knew the landowner.  I asked him if he knew any other artists that did this—the mural thing—he said he knew a bunch of people who did this-some who would even do this for FREE. (I get excited when I hear the word free). I can’t wait to see his piece when it is done. Follow link for his website (http://andrewhem.com/).

Here is another mural that just popped up in Culver City along Washington Blvd.

off Washington in Culver City

Some research tells me that there is a trend of recognizing murals as significant in their contributions to neighborhood beautification. Looks like the CRA funded the Hollywood Beautification Team in 2003 to paint murals on roll downs in Hollywood. See link for images (http://www.publicartinla.com/LA_murals/Hollywood/hollywood_rolldown_door.html)

I found out that New York City is also beautifying many of their roll-downs (roll-ups? Are the two interchangeable?). For more info, click link (http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/12/01/gates/)

Then this, more recently (http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/03/arts/design/streetfest-and-murals-on-the-bowery-on-the-lower-east-side.html?_r=1))

(Excerpted from a New York Times article titled, “A Metal-Gate Makeover” May 2nd,     2011 by James Barron)

Ms. Remen is hoping there will be a lot of double-takes on the Bowery this week, but they will happen only at night and on Sunday, when the stores are closed and the shutters are down. The wide metal gates provide an appealing canvas, and more than 15 have been painted for “After Hours: Murals on the Bowery.” The installation coincides with the Festival of Ideas for the New City, which begins on Wednesday at the New Museum, a couple of blocks from Mr. Sierra’s store.

And lastly, this article from the Argonaut newspaper talks about the distinction between commercial signage and murals while laying out a good argument for the positive affects they can have on a community.

(http://www.argonautnewspaper.com/articles/2011/06/02/news_-_features/top_stories/1v.txt)

(Excerpted from an Argonaut article titled, “Venice: Proposal for new law identifying murals as art gains local support” June 1st, 2011 by Gary Walker)

“I’m (Los Angeles City Councilman Bill Rosendahl ) putting this motion in because I strongly believe in separating art from commercial advertising,” the councilman told The Argonaut the day before he submitted his motion. “(Murals) are artistic expression that are often intertwined with culture and history, and they deserve to be viewed separately from commercial signage.”

The Venice Neighborhood Council unanimously backed a resolution May 24 to encourage Rosendahl to submit the motion to the council.

… City planning officials, as well as the Cultural Affairs Department and the Building and Safety Department, have equated signs with murals for nearly a decade in Los Angeles, much to the consternation of painters and muralists.

“The distinction between murals and signs is simple; it’s the intent,” Judy Baca of the Social and Public Art Resource Center (SPARC), a Venice-based nonprofit arts center that produces and preserves public art, said in an earlier interview with The Argonaut. “If it’s about beauty or social interaction, it’s a mural. If it’s designed to sell a product, then it’s advertising, pure and simple.”

This entry was posted in neighborhood beautification, news, skid row and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to what about more murals?

  1. damien says:

    hey. i read your post on the MOCA site. I am an Australian street artist and am traveling through the states from August till November. I would like to talk to you about making some mural. check out my work at damienmitchell.blogspot.com and let me know if you can help finding some wall.

    • Katherine says:

      Damien,
      Love your work and I know it would add intrigue to my neighborhood. I just posted this “murals” entry–let me see if I can talk anyone into some public art around here. I’ll let you know if I can.
      Thanks for the offer!

  2. Marisa says:

    Hi Katherine, I also just finished reading your post on the MOCA site as well. I’m a street artist here in LA and would love to be apart of this: Here is a bit of my art: http://www.flickr.com/photos/39079879@N04/sets/72157627144107932/ I also know many street artists here in LA that would be very interested in this, so I can definitely help in that aspect. Contact me if this gets serious because it sounds like a great idea! Here’s my email: Marisab@skeczh.com

    • Katherine says:

      Marisa,
      Great that you are interested and great images! I’m overwhelmed that some artists have expressed interest in Skid Row. I have just learned that murals are currently illegal here, but I have someone looking into a loophole to the current law- it seems a local Council Member has Ok’ed murals as legally condoned “public beautification” projects close by. I’m trying to work with the fine folks who work here every day in law enforcement and street cleaning services to see if there is something workable for this area. Skid Row has specific ordinances that apply only within these borders- I am working on getting some answers soon. Thank you! I will be in touch.

  3. Pingback: Guerrilla Garden + murals in Culver City = sweet | Trees on San Pedro Street Project

  4. Pingback: newly painted roll-up on 4th St.! | Trees on San Pedro Street Project

  5. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme
    in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done a formidable job and our entire commmunity will be
    thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

